Keaton Ferris; Mistreatment Bringing a Town Together

Something that occurs far too often (once is frankly too much)

bi[polar] curious

*Trigger warning; contains some detail about the mistreatment and death of a man with mental illness*

It seems like every day I hear of a new situation where someone with mental illness has been taken advantage of, abused, or killed with little repercussion. It isn’t every day, however, that I hear about this happening in the small town of Coupeville I grew up in on Whidbey Island in Washington State.

That isn’t to say it doesn’t happen there. I definitely received some spotty (at best) mental healthcare when I lived there 15 years ago, but reports from my family, friends, the community, and the local news have detailed a story much more disturbing than I could have imagined happening in my tiny, sleepy town on my own.

Keaton Ferris, a 25 year old local man who was diagnosed with bipolar disorder was in the Island County jail after not showing…

View original post 523 more words

Leave a Reply

