Rest

It has been a while since I put words down on this blog. I just haven’t been that driven lately for some reason. I’m not going to lie, it was a little nice not coming up with ideas to write about. Truthfully, I have no map for the direction of this post either. Let’s enjoy the journey together. When I was young I enjoyed sitting in secluded spots by the river and simply enjoying the beautiful scene. As I have grown up and assumed more and more responsibilities the time for these times of serenity has all but disappeared. It’s easy to get caught up in the business of life and not make time for the small things. In my opinion, these breaks are important for your mental well being. Being busy all of the time will wear you down and spit you out. I don’t think I’m alone in this way of thinking either. We put so much importance on being busy, or the illusion of being busy, and we tend to lose ourselves because of it. I think this culture of busyness is a key contributor to the instances of mental health problems that seem to be rising everyday. Exhaustion, depression, anxiety and so much else can be made worse if we don’t slow down and be kind to ourselves. We have a finite amount of moments, do we really want to spend them all being busy because we think that is how we should measure success? That does not sound like a very happy way to live. Take time to enjoy the moment. See the trees, the sun; feel the wind on your face; notice the beauty of your lover. Take time to really taste your food, enjoy each flavour mindfully as you eat. Even simply notice your breathing, take note of each intake of air and experience the exhale afterwards. Life is happening now, notice it.

IMG_5741

One thought on “Rest

Leave a Reply

