Life

Life is difficult for all of us. I don’t care who you are, you have struggles. What separates us is how we choose to cope with it. Do we blame others for our misfortunes, or do we accept them and move forward? Do we claim that the universe is somehow turned against us, or do we understand that life is fluid and things can change at any moment? I could go on with the questions, but I think my point is clear here; we have a choice to make with every situation and only we can make that choice for ourselves. We can’t rely on others to make these decisions for us because it is our life, not theirs. Fighting against life’s struggles is exhausting, believe me, I know. I spent a good portion of my life blaming others for my sadness and claiming the whole world was against me. Once I started taking responsibility for my choices in life and for my own happiness things became a little easier to deal with. I found that I was able to move past things that I hadn’t been able to and was able to deal with things like the end of my 10 year marriage a lot more effectively. I’m not saying that it’s been easy, far from it. It takes a lot of hard work and pride swallowing to take responsibility for these things. It is an ongoing process that requires an awareness of the moment as often as you can. There is a lot of practice involved and many awkward conversations with yourself in the mirror, but if happiness were easily attainable would it be so satisfying when we feel it? It can be simple things that make you happy, but getting to a point where you let those things give you joy is the hard work. Life is hard, but it isn’t out to get us. We can make choices as to how we will react to it and it is those choices that can bring misery or happiness. Keep working my friends, hard work will pay off. Remember to keep the PMA!

2015/01/img_5496.jpg

Leave a Reply

