Struggle

Strength comes from struggle.  When you learn to see your struggles as opportunities to become stronger, better, wiser, then your thinking shifts from “I can’t do this” to “I must do this.”

-Toni Sorenson

In a drastic shift from yesterday’s post, I’ve decided to tackle my struggle from a different perspective today.  I’m not going to sit here and judge my outburst from yesterday as that isn’t helpful, but I will learn from it and carry on from there.  Struggle is part of all of our lives; mental illness or not.  Life isn’t fair and life isn’t easy, so how we view it can make all of the difference.  Yesterday I viewed it from a very hopeless perspective and didn’t react in a helpful manner.  It’s ok.  We are allowed to have those days, but constantly grasping on that feeling is not constructive.  Fighting for life to be “fair” is also a losing battle and one that I have fought most of my life.  Somehow I got it in my head that if you are good, good things will always happen and if you were bad, bad things would always happen.  Sometimes this statement is true, but if you hold it up over time you quickly realize it isn’t a reliable rule of thumb.  Good people have bad things happen to them every day and “bad” people have good things happen.  There is no rhyme or reason, because life is fluid and unrelenting.  It doesn’t have a concience and it doesn’t keep score; it just is what it is.  Life happens and what we do with it is what defines us.  We can fight against it and pretend that there is another reality that can exist if we will it so, or we can take it as it is, learn from it and grow from it.  We can gain strength from it, or be worn down by it.  It is a choice we have to make moment by moment and we need to be willing to be gentle with ourselves when we stumble.  We all struggle; lets learn from it!20140619-112243-40963655.jpg

Leave a Reply

