Every 40 Seconds.

 

According to the WHO report there is a suicide every 40 seconds.  That is a very devastating statistic.  This is an issue that needs to be talked about more and taken far more seriously.  I know that has been far more talk about it since Robin Williams’ passing, but a lot of what I have seen still misses the point.  There are many out there who are of the opinion that this is a rational decission made by a rational person.  Depression is not rational.  Read that again and again until it gets into your brain.  It’s an important fact that needs to be understood.  In the time it will take you to read this post, at least one person will have taken their life and will never be heard from again.  Lets make this something that those who feel that despair can comfortably talk about.  Depression doesn’t descriminate and it is not something visable to the naked eye.  It is something that attacks the soul and can be hidden for years.  I didn’t deal with mine for a long time because I was afraid of what people might think of me.  I was terrified that I would be seen as weak or “crazy”.  The fact is, there is no weakness in getting help.  It takes courage to reach out when you need to.  Don’t assume that someone will simply snap out of it.  Don’t assume that someone is “too smart” to contemplate suicide because, again, Depression is not rational.

20140528-122456-44696945.jpg

 

5 thoughts on “Every 40 Seconds.

  1. Depression may not be rational, or even suicide for that matter, but I wonder…Do people consider the others that they will leave behind and how their choice may effect those who love them? Those who have to *try* to carry on without them? Or, do they falsely convince themselves that the world would be better off without them?

    • Having been in a position where I attempted it, I can confidently say that they have convinced themselves that people will be better off. For me, I thought I was going to do everyone a favour.

      • That really very sad and I had a feeling that you would say that. There were many times that I thought about it when I was younger, but the one thing that always stopped me was the thought of my mother. I knew that she would be crushed and there was no way that I could put her through that. But, I never got to the point that you did, so I don’t understand. No matter what we’re feeling on the inside, people would much more prefer that we were around than not be. It’s heartbreaking to know that people feel unneeded or unwanted or like a burden…especially when (from the outside) others know that that’s not true. I’m so glad that your attempt failed and without a doubt, I know your kids are too.

Leave a Reply

