Opinions, Opinions

throughout my life I have relied a lot on others’ opinions to define me. Do they think I’m handsome; do they think I’m funny; so many opinions, so little time. I am not what others think of me. I am not someone else’s opinion and I am not my past. Yes, I have made mistakes and not everyone likes who I am, but the question comes down to whether or not I like me. It can be a tough question sometimes, but in the end I can confidently say that I do. It has taken a lot of hard work to break through the seemingly terminal low self esteem that I have fought with. It will take continued hard work to keep moving forward. There will be days like today where I may slip backwards and fall victim to my distorted and untrue negative thinking. That is ok. I’m not perfect and I never will be. The important thing is to keep pushing forward no matter what life and my own thinking may throw at me. Sometimes, like today, I just need a slight nudge from someone I trust to get me back on the right track. Do you base your worth on what others think? What do you do to combat it? I know I’m not the only one!IMG_3841.JPG

Leave a Reply

