The News

In this era of instant news it is very difficult to stay positive.  The injustice and death that is reported is enough to drag even the most positve person down.  This is a tricky subject as we can’t ignore the stuff that happens around us, but we also need to keep a good attitude.  It comes down to something that I have been hammering home for the last few months: acceptance.  We have to simply accept that the world can be a scary and unfair place.  Don’t judge it as good or bad, simply that it is what it is.  I know it sounds selfish, but what good are we to the world if we spend our time fighting against reality?  If we don’t take care of ourselves first, how can we expect to help anyone else?  This is an issue that has caused me much heartache as I’ve always wanted to take care of others before myself and sometimes that is ok, but if I’m a mess personally, I’m not going to be able to help someone else who’s in a mess.  It can create quite the little downward spiral as being in a mess I see others in a mess which makes me feel worse and causes more mess to fill my head.  Eventually everyone is brought down and nobody is better for it.

Accept the moment and experience it to it’s fullest.  That is the recipe for positivity.  If I live in the moment I’m not worrying about the past and I’m not focusing on the injustices around me.  Life isn’t fair, so I won’t expect it to be.  I will do my best to be as fair as I can and really that is all I can do.  I can’t control the world, but I can control what I do.  I probably won’t change the world, but I know I can do what I can to make it better for my kids, my friends and my family.  I can’t forget about the little things that I can do to make things just a little better.  I’m vegan, so my environmental impact is lower than most and my diet does not cause animals harm.  I show love to my kids so that they will be able to show love to others.  I try hard to be positive and hope that that positivity can leach into others’ lives.  In the end I can only control what I can control.  We can only control what we can control and the rest needs to be accepted as reality.  Stay strong.

20140630-174324-63804799.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

