What to Say?

It’s one of those days where I don’t know what to write about.  It’s a morning where I don’t feel like being positive.  These are the days where it is most important to check my attitude and make a conscious effort to stay positive. Three sentences in and I’m ready to end this post.  I feel emotionally exhausted today.  My kids have been gone for two weeks and I’m missing them a lot.  It is hard to be away from them this long.  It’s hard enough being away from them during the week, let alone for a month and a half!  If I had a vehicle I might take a couple of days off during this time and drive out to see them, but I don’t have one.  I know they are having a good time with my parents and that they are in good hands.  I need to take this time to figure out what I want from life.  I make mistakes; I think we all do, and I let down a friend this weekend.  I won’t get into it as this isn’t a place for that, but I will admit that I have been ruminating and catastrophizing about it ever since.  That could be why I feel so terrible today.  It isn’t helpful to dwell on it and it isn’t in anyone’s best interest to keep going on about it, so what do I do now?  I need to focus on what needs to be done in this moment and not live in the past.  I can’t change what I did, but I can change what I do about it.  This is true for any situation and for any person.  No matter what things we have done, we can always except that it’s done and figure out what we will do now.  I can sit and think about how my kids are 1400kms away for a month and a half, or I can accept that and focus on what I need to do where I am, when I am.

 

20140714-103130-37890772.jpg

Leave a Reply

