Hobbies…not Hobbits

I need a hobby to take my mind off things.  I think we all could use a thing or two that we enjoy to keep our minds off the grind of life.  I enjoy taking pictures, but I don’t make enough time to go out and really get into it.  When I get stuck in my self-pity I can come up with a million reasons why I shouldn’t go out and take pictures.  A big mountain I need to climb is the fact that I get anxious when I step out of my home base.  I feel self-concious stopping and taking photos when people are milling about.  I’m not quite sure what I think will happen, but it really gets me going.  I need to set some small goals and stick to them.  Maybe set aside an evening each week where I go somewhere out of my neighbourhood and take pictures.  Maybe I should create a theme and try to stick to it.  Maybe I should take my own advice on this and just do it!  God knows I need a distraction during the week and this would be perfect.

20140423-115757.jpg

 

4 thoughts on “Hobbies…not Hobbits

  1. I have the same problem, sticking to something, making myself do it, and love of photography but won’t get out to shoot, feeling awkward when I’m by myself. I’m trying the yard first–then I’ll venture farther, as soon as I learn to stick with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

