No School

Looks like school is out of the picture now. I start back at my old job on Tuesday morning. Sigh. I just need some more time to get my head screwed back on and get stable financially. The effects of this marriage ending are far reaching and I doubt this is the end of it. One day I’ll be able to achieve a dream, but for now my kids are more important. If I’m in school and working I would barely get to see the kids and the fragile state of my mind would be setting myself up for emotional failure. This has not been an easy decision to make, but it is what it is right now. This decision will make more time for my band as well, which is a major component to achieve a balance in my life. I think I’m at peace with this decision; I’m doing the best I can with what I have.

20140516-103534.jpg

3 thoughts on “No School

  1. Hey there,
    I’m sure that was a hard call to make. But here is what I would tell you if you were my student. Big picture: School will be there when you are ready. It’s not going anywhere. Your health and your kids come first. The only thing worse than not going to school and following your dream is going to school when you are so overloaded that you can’t live up to your potential. That’s just a lose/lose situation. Take some time to get settled into what your life is now. Make sure your kids are okay. Focus on getting stronger. You are not shutting the door.
    More specific school advice: Go talk to an Admissions adviser at U of W. You are not the first person to have plans to start school get interrupted by personal crisis. There may be a way for you to defer enrollment for a year. That way you don’t have to feel like you are back at square one. You’re just pressing pause, not calling the whole thing off. Secondly, just because you are not starting school doesn’t mean you can’t start working towards your future in other smaller ways. You might want to consider getting involved in volunteer work that would look good on your resume as a teacher. This can also help you learn a little more about the field itself and yourself. Showing a personal investment in your chosen vocation goes a long way when you get into the job market eventually. Take care, Ryan.

Leave a Reply

