Basic Training

I am training my replacement at work. it’s a weird feeling knowing that I won’t be doing this much longer. I also have two of my sick kids with me and a product knowledge seminar over my lunch. It has been a rather hectic day and I have handled it very well. Some days I surprise myself and hold it together through very stressful situations. It would be nice if it was like this all the time, but I’ll take it. The bank took out $200 more than it was supposed to for rent and on the tight budget we are on it is a pretty big deal. Luckily I have generous parents to lend us a $20 so I can get enough gas to get to work until they fix their mistake. Maybe my breathing techniques are working, or the knowledge that I don’t have to sell drywall for the rest of my life has me hopeful; either way, I didn’t panic. I didn’t wallow in the unnecessary inconvenience the bank has caused us. I kept my cool. For once. Really, I did. Should I mark this on the calendar? I really don’t know what to do with this. I’ll just enjoy it, I guess.

I wrote a song while walking the dogs. I wrote the guitar parts in my head. I raced downstairs when I got home to play it and solidify the parts. In all my hubbub I forgot to take the leashes off the dogs, who were not too happy with me when my wife noticed and took them off. The mind of a musician can be a complex and confusing place and when we become inspired it needs to be let out. The dogs were mad, but I managed to get another song together to bring to the next practice.

20140304-192029.jpg

Leave a Reply

