Ignorance is bliss, until real life kicks you in the teeth.

I read somewhere today that people with depression are blessed with the ability to see what the world is really like. We are not “saddled” with the rose coloured glasses that the masses put on to float through life without taking notice of the inconvenient unpleasantries that exist. If you are reading this and thinking, “that thieving bugger stole that from my blog” please let me know so I can link back to you. I don’t talk about my political beliefs at work because talking of such things is far too polarizing for an already dismal place. At times this policy is hard to stick too; especially when someone goes on a rant about how “bleeding heart animal rights people” or “granola eating anti-tar sands people” are somehow terrorists because they are unhappy with the anti-science policies of our “Conservative” government. I feel my blood boil and I just breathe and ignore it. I think people would rather just support the easy way rather then rationally think things through and follow that to the dark underside that is real life. Somehow standing against photo radar because it stamps on their right to speed is far more righteous than demanding that important ecological questions be thoroughly researched before recklessly developing a complex and fragile ecosystem whose destruction could have far reaching effects on many people. Maybe my bias is showing a little on that example, but it is a relevant issue that everyone can relate in some way. I’m unsure whether I can whole heartedly agree with the statement that our (Depression sufferers) ability to see through the sugar coating is a blessing as it seems as though the weight of this corrupt and greedy world is crushing my weary, vegan body. Someone tried to tell me that it was my veganism that caused my depression because they read somewhere that a large number of vegans suffer from depression. In a classic case of overgeneralizing statistics this person ignored the obvious variable of causality. Did the data have anything stating whether the depression’s onset was before or after their change in diet and whether there was any evidence that the change in diet had anything at all to do with mental illness. I wouldn’t say I overthought that one, but I think that we like to skip the critical thinking part when putting our world view together. I am as guilty of this as most people, but I have a pretty bleak worldview to begin with.
It seams people consciously decide to be blissfully ignorant and float through life like it’s some sort of fairy tail, once in a while tumbling down to angrily lash out at those who wish to understand the minefield of real life. I think my depression has contributed to my unquenchable curiosity as to what makes “the world go ’round” which at times throws me deeper into despair as gestation crates, the vilification of the poor, corporate welfare (especially the subsidizing of Big Oil and the banks) all come to light. If I left it there I would probably cease to function, but it is at that crossroads that we need to make a choice. It is at this crossroad that we need to choose to try to use this view as something constructive (ignoring the other issue of people tending to dismiss the opinions of mental illness sufferers) and try to work to change the culture of corruption and hate and to also realize that sometimes just choosing to live differently and more consciously is the best way to do so. So if you refuse to wear rose coloured glasses, don’t let people’s ignorant view of mental illness keep you down, and don’t worry about how your choice may inconvenience those who don’t share your opinion.

Now go forth and think critically!

20140210-200509.jpg

3 thoughts on “Ignorance is bliss, until real life kicks you in the teeth.

  1. Another blog I followed talked about how depression had it’s own set of glasses instead, and I agree.
    ‘Depression goggles’ she calls them. Where things are somewhat distorted, and they especially effect the view of things that are nearest to our own lives.
    However! I absolutely agree with you and as yet the un-named blogger that it often allows us to see things in general society in all their full horror.
    I think what it really is, is that we don’t have the ‘somebody elses problem’ veil which is described in the hitchhikers guide. We see things not getting done, or being done with no precautions and think “that looks like an accident waiting to happen.” Followed by “Oh shit, it doesn’t seem like anyone else is doing something about that!” and the oft powerless feeling of “What can I really do about it alone?”
    (though we’re *not* alone, if only we could get in contact with the other people who see it, or could see it if we pointed it out, and then convince them to act with us.)

    Sadly, as it stands ensmuth has almost nothing on fear factor the real world causes in me some days, especially for you and I alike, living under Harper and his corporate butt-licking, and poor-people pilfering to line already rich pockets, all while being ‘bleeding heart liberals’.
    Mind you, I’m not vegan, so I don’t have the extra bit of society trying to blast me for my own goddamned diet choices (but you can probably tell from my choice of language that I support you in yours. I was raised vegetarian, so I know at least a bit of how that goes.)

    I don’t know if there’s anything I can say that will really help you with this. But I can say, you’re not alone, I’m right here with you on this.

Leave a Reply

