The Days, They are Numbered.

I told my boss today that I was accepted into the University of Winnipeg for the Fall Semester. It wasn’t nearly as liberating as I’d hoped, but it gives me something to look forward to. I dislike the day after I have taken a day off. It seems that suddenly no one knows how to deal with a problem and I come in to a desk full of things that should have been dealt with, but haven’t been. There isn’t much that frustrates me more than this. On the bright side, I am not stuck here for life and I have a potential career on the horizon. Enough with the whining this morning; I just needed to type that out to get it off my chest and thank you for being here to listen. Now, onward and upward!

I am looking forward to the student life, even if it is busy and stressful. I’m looking forward to learning and expanding my mind and being part of something that can enrich the lives of the people I would eventually be teaching. I can’t recall being more excited for something like this since they added Psychology to the curriculum when I was in High School. Yes, I am a nerd. No, I don’t see school as a social situation, so I should be ok with staying focused. I’ve often been asked why High School and the short answer to that is that high school kids are developing into young adults and as such have ideals and plans for the future. It is also a demographic where mental illness seems to start showing its ugly face. I know that I felt I had nowhere to turn to during those turbulent years and there was little available through the school and teachers didn’t talk about it. I hope that my experience with mental illness will be an asset for me to help remove the stigma from an already hostile social environment. I realize that I am going into this full of ideals without really knowing what I’m getting myself into. I am holding onto hope that I will not become jaded or disillusioned too easily. This is an excited chapter that is about to begin and I am both excited and terrified at the same time, but I know I can do this and I know it won’t be easy; nothing worth doing is ever easy. We will see how this all goes; Hell, maybe I’ll stick around and get a PhD! Ok, Ok, now I’m getting ahead of myself!

20140204-064152.jpg

Leave a Reply

